Employer directory Physics World  February 2019

Scottish Universities Physics Alliance

The Scottish Universities Physics Alliance is a strategic alliance of eight physics schools with a shared research strategy: the universities of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Heriot-Watt, St Andrews, Strathclyde and West of Scotland. SUPA is a community of more than 1200 physicists (academics, research staff and 600 postgraduate students) across Scotland.

Why study with us

SUPA has established Scotland as a recognized international leader in research and advanced postgraduate training in physics. You will be part of a national network of experts, with access to quality training and seminars, as well as excellent public-engagement and outreach opportunities throughout Scotland. The Graduate School provides a welcome event to meet your fellow students, a careers event to help you think about the future, and an annual showcase of the research taking place across SUPA.

Training and development

Over the first two years of a SUPA doctorate, you are expected to undertake a minimum of 40 hours of advanced specialist courses, and 20 hours of professional development training. The technical courses aim to broaden your knowledge and depth of understanding, while the transferable skills training is specifically designed for physicists. We offer a wide variety of training courses using our video-conference network in our eight partner universities, so you’ll receive training from the experts regardless of their, or your, location.

What we are looking for

Each of our universities has something unique to offer, and each has particular specialisms. Whether you’re looking for a big city or town, experimental or theoretical research, being part of a small project or a vast collaboration, take a look at all our member institutions to find your perfect fit.

Profile can be viewed at brightrecruits